Holding Cell Phone While Driving Now Illegal

Holding a Cell Phone While Driving Is Illegal In 2021
Virginia’s hands-free law, taking effect on Jan 1, makes it illegal to drive holding a cell phone in Virginia. Previously, only texting or emailing while driving was against the law. Drivers can talk hands-free, using a speaker or headphone (one ear only, headphones in both ears violates a different law). Fines are $125 for a first offense and $250 for a second offense or if driving in a construction zone. Last year distracted driving resulted in 120 deaths in Virginia. This compares to 4,984 COVID-19 deaths in Virginia.) Code of Virginia § 46.2-818.2